Path to Peace: Acceptance

Hustling is the new lifestyle. People are obsessed with anything is possible that every problem has its solution. Some of us tend to suppress feelings and assured ourselves “No, I can handle this, as always.” Manipulating self to be tough and in control over things beyond our control.

As the world overglorify positive and growth mindset, negative emotion are perceived as cancer we need to get rid of it as soon as we feel them. Therefore, escapism is inevitable. People get drunk, overeating, impulsive online shopping, or simply endless scrolling on social media. Wishing that the void will vanish instantly.

Like positive emotion, negative emotion needs to be embraced and welcomed. Unfortunate fates happened for some reason and all we can do is sit and watch. Rather than denial, acceptance is more effortful. To let the storm happens without panicking and running away is challenging.

Not to mention constant insecurity due to people’s timeline in social media, this demands us that being happy is a life goal while being depressed and sad are considered toxic. In fact, people who tend to bottle up feelings would explode once they couldn’t bear it. Why bother piling up feelings when you can nurture them gradually and more healthily.

When my mom cried as she vented, I often asked “Aren’t you tired of crying?” She always answered, “It’s better to cry and feel it rather than hiding them. Pouring your feelings never hurts.”

Since that day, I welcome my slump days as I welcome my hyper enthusiastic days. As some say “No rainbow without rain”, I’d spent hours lying down or crying as I sing heartbreak songs though I can’t relate. The next day, I feel refreshed and ready to start the day. Some of my friends would watch sad series to trigger them crying and eventually let out what they need to release. You will have your own version.

There is no instant process in building self-acceptance, after all. Some attend webinars and trainings. Some simply read books and listen to podcasts. Some need to be introduced to misadventures and learn them by going through it. When one has accepted themselves, they would be aware of what’s good and bad for them. As I wrote this entry, I found a cute quote on Instagram, “Some people are like Ads, just skip them.”

Wasting energy on certain individuals would be in vain. Indeed, the process of learning our worth and accept what we experience is a long journey. After all, the worst enemy is ourselves. We can’t help wanting to control things we can’t control. We can’t help to please people in order to get validation. We can’t help to love someone we can’t have.

The question is: Are you willing to embrace them, or jumped into the same hollow?

Leave a comment